Sturgis' beautiful, Tudor Revival brick depot was constructed in 1895 to serve passengers traveling on the Lake Shore and Michigan Southern (LS & MS) railway line. The present structure replaced the original wooden depot built in 1852. In the early days of train travel, some passengers contended that "LS & MS" stood for Long Stops and Muddy Stations. In 1914, the LS & MS became part of the New York Central line. Passenger service in Sturgis ended on November 19, 1956.
Over the years, the depot has served the community of Sturgis in a variety of ways. Most recently, it was home to the Sturgis Area Chamber of Commerce and a small museum for the City of Sturgis. On June 26, 2014, the citizens of Sturgis were witness to a historical event as the nearly 120 year old depot was painstakingly prepped, lifted and literally driven down the main streets of downtown to its new home at the corner of Jefferson Street and Chicago Road.
Firmly set on its new foundation, the building is now home to the Sturgis Historical Museum ~ At the Depot. Undergoing historically accurate renovations, the Depot remains true to its architectural heritage, yet state-of-the-art in its ability to captivate visitors of all ages.
Wolfe House and Building Movers supervised the structural lifting and relocation of the depot.
CLICK HERE to view pictures of the preparation and move of the Depot from its old home on Main Street, to its new foundation in the heart of downtown Sturgis on the corner of Jefferson Street and Chicago Road.